Secratary Report: 


20th October 2013

Dear members,

Greetings from IASSTD & AIDS.

I convey my sincere thanks to all the members who attended the 37th National conference of IASSTD & AIDS at JSS Medical College Mysore from 27th to 29th September 2013

We must congratulate Dr.K.H.Basavaraj, Organising Chairman, Dr. Jayadev Betkerur,, Organising Secretary and their team for organizing the conference in an excellent manner. The selection of venue was well appreciated. The scientific sessions involved many senior professors sharing their knowledge and it was well attended by many postgraduate students. We must appreciate that ample time was allotted for discussions after the lectures. Many standard papers were presented. Transport and accommodation were well planned. Following are the details of the events.


1.Institute of Venereology Silver Jubilee Oration -  "What it is to be a Venereologist" –- Dr.K.Mahadevan, Prof & HOD Dept of Venereology, Coimbatore Medical College, Coimbatore Chaired by Dr Balachandran, Dr.A.D.Dharmaratnam

2.R.V. Rajam Endowment Oration - Dr.A.K.Jaiswal, Bangalore. "HIV in Armed Forces" Chaired by Dr. K.Venkateswaran, Dr.B.Loganathan

3.Dr.M.A.Wali Endowment Oration- Shifting paradigm in STI mangement services - focusing vulnerable communities in India '' by Dr.Smarajit Jana, Kolkatta
Chaired by Dr Laxminarayan, Dr.Dinesh Govil

4.Sardari Lal Memorial Award 2013- Dr.Taru Garg , New Delhi on Sexually transmitted diseases among men who have sex with men: A retrospective analysis from Suraksha clinic in a tertiary care hospital
Chaired by Dr Sanjeev Kumar Goyal, Dr.Chandrashekhar Rao

Dr HC Mohanty PG Quiz Competition
Quizmaster: Dr.Shashikumar, Associate Professor, Mandya Institute of Medical Sciences
Scorer: Dr.Prajwal,N.Dhanyan,JSSMedical College
First: Dr Ranjitha Rajan, Dr.Lakshmi Asokan- Govt.Medical College,Trivandrum
Second: Dr Zohra Begum, Dr.V.A.Kayalvizhi – Stanley Medical College,Chennai
Third: Dr AnjuK.Balan, Dr.E.D.Sheeba – Govt.Medical College,Kottayam

Award Paper Sessions - Winners

1. Dr V. Govindan Nair Memorial Award Paper Session (Dr. Shivkumar Y M, Dr. Gunasekaran)

First - Dr.Dinesh Ponraj, Madras Medical College,Chennai Asymptomatic multidrug resistant pharyngeal gonorrhea

Second - Dr.Vibha Bhat, Madras Medical College,Chennai Significance of culture in the diagnosis of Trichomoniasis

Third - Dr.VrushaliPatwardhan,Moulana Azad Medical College,New Delhi. Simultaneous detection and typing of herpes simplex virus (HSV) directly from genital ulcer specimens by an in-house gG gene based PCR: Its applications in routine diagnosis.

2. Dr. P.S Ranganathan Memorial Award Session (Chair :Dr Rathindra Nath Dutta, Dr Hanumanthappa H) 

First - Dr. Seema Sood,New Delhi Gene targets for Nucleic Acid Amplification Tests (NAATs) for detection of Neisseria gonorrhoeae in Indian Population

Second - Dr.Sukanya, Madras Medical College,Chennai Early detection of HIV infection –- 

Third - Dr. Partha Sarathy Mugundu, Chennai Comparison of the HIV risk characteristics and clinical profile of injection drug using and other female sex workers: learning from the AVAHAN experience in Manipur and Nagaland

Best Posters – Total posters displayed 20

First - Dr.Manipriya, Madras Medical College,Chennai

Second - Dr.Amal Shyam,PariyaramMedical College, Kannur

Third - Dr.K.Kavitha rai, PHRI, Mysore

Free Paper Session :

Hall I – Nine papers presented.Chaired by Dr Purushotham, Dr Girish B S

Hall II – Ten papers presented Chaired by Dr Ramanand Kumar,Dr Surendra

Panel discussion HAART:Burning Issue

Moderator-Dr Nitin Walia

Panelists-Dr.Swamy V.H.T, Dr.D.G.Saple, Dr.Ravi Vadrevu, Dr Arun Kumar

CME Inauguration on 27th Sep 2013 ( morning )
Inaugurated by Dr. B Manjunatha ,Registrar of JSS University,
Presided by Dr. Basavanagowdappa ,The Principal,

Conference Inauguration on 27th Sep 2013 (Evening)
(Venue: Rajendra Auditorium of JSSMC.)
Welcome Address Dr.K.H.Basavaraj,Organising Chairman,ASTICON 2013
Secretary’s Report Dr P Elangovan, Secretary, IASSTD & AIDS
Presidential Address Dr Lt.Col.Nitin Walia, President, IASSTD & AIDS
Inauguration & 
Awards Distribution Mr. B.N. Betkerur, The Executive Secretary,JSS Mahavidyapeetha & Pro Chancellor ,JSS University 
Award of Excellence to Dr.A.D.Dharmaratnam
Vote of Thanks Dr Jayadev Betkerur, Organising Secretary, ASTICON 2013
Cultural Program By students of JSS Medical College

Banquet Function on 28th Sep 2013 (Evening)
(Venue: JW Golf Club, Near Karanji Lake, Mysore)

Faculty List: CME – Theme : Panoramic view of STI & HIV

Dr. M.S. Sadeep , Dr G.S.Vijayakumar, Dr.T.G.Savitha, Dr ..Y.S.Marfatia, Dr Somesh Gupta Dr N.U sman, Dr.J.Sridhar,Dr.D.G.Saple, Dr.Ravi Vadrevu, Dr.Manjubala, Dr.Bhushan Kumar,

Debate: Syndromic approach to STI for – Dr.S.K.Shenoy,Against – Dr.M.Shenoy Verdict- Dr.Bhushan Kumar.

Panel discussion on Relevance of Venereology Today: Panelists- Dr Somesh Gupta, Dr MS Sadeep, Dr.H.Hanumanthappa & Dr.N.Usman Moderator –Dr Rajesh Verma

Faculty List: Conference

Dr.Sunil Sethi, Dr.P.Elangovan, Dr.Rakesh Bharti, Dr.PS.Balu, Dr.Reynold, Ms.Girija, Dr.Narayanappa, Dr.S.N.Mothi, Ms A.R.Manjula, Dr.K.Ravindra, Dr.Kishore, Dr.G.D.Ravindran

The valedictory function was held on 29th Sep 2013 afternoon.Our outgoing president Dr.Lt.Col Nitin Walia presided and distributed medals,cash prizes and certificates for the winners.The incoming president Dr B.Loganathan took over charges and addressed the gathering.The conference came to an end with vote of thanks by the organizing secretary.

With regards