Secratary Report: 


Dear friends,

I feel very proud, privileged and honored for giving me the opportunity to be a mirror of all your views. Our association was started in 1975 by our Patron Late Dr. C.N. Sowmini with the main objective to maintain uniqueness and individuality. I assure all of you that our team will certainly fulfill the vision of our Patron.

ASTICON 2015, well attended by around 350 Delegates was successfully conducted at Coimbatore. We thank the whole team of ASTICON 2015 for their excellent coordinated work that made ASTICON 2015 a remarkable and special event than any other conferences. The Theme of the conference was "Scientific Concepts in STD and HIV Management". The conference was studded with knowledge and information that were transmitted to all the delegates to improve their skills and practices that will finally reach our patients who are the final beneficiaries.

The scientific programme started with CME inauguration & E-souvenir release on September 11 2015, 8.30 am, by Prof. Dr. A. Edwin Joe, M.D., B.L., Dean, Coimbatore Medical College, Coimbatore. Silver Jubilee Oration of Institute Of Venereology was delivered by Dr. V.S. Dorairaj on Chlamydia Trachomatis – The Silent STI. Dr. N. Kumarasamy, Chief Medical officer from YRG Care gave a lecture on Long Term Impact of Antiretroviral Therapy in Resource Limited Settings on the first plenary session on September 11, 2015. We had interactive lectures from various speakers on the topics of Psycho Social Concerns – HIV/STI and on Synopsis of HIV/STI.

Dr. V. Govindan Nair Memorial Award Competition: First prize was given to the paper titled as "Changing trends in Luetic disease in a tertiary care centre" by Dr. Navya V. S. from Calicut Medical College, Calicut, Kerala. Second prize was given to Dr. R. Rajalakshmi from Institute of Venereology, Madras Medical College, Chennai on the topic as "Prevalence of Bacterial Vaginosis, vaginal candidiasis and trichomoniasis among asymptomatic females", and the third prize to Dr. Sahana S. R. from JSS Medical College, Mysuru titled as "Profile of HIV serodiscordant couples in a tertiary care centre".

On the first day evening at the Conference Inaugural Function Prof. Dr. S. Ramalingam, Dean, PSGIMSR delivered the inaugural address. Prof. Dr. M. Rajendran, Dean, IRTPMC, released the Souvenir & presented the awards. Prof. Dr. N. Usman was honoured with "Award of Excellence for the year 2015" by the dignitaries. Inaugural dinner was blended with Coimbatore Medical College Students Orchestra.

The second day of the conference started with free papers, followed by IUSTI – IASSTD & AIDS Scholarship awarded lectures. The following three persons got the scholarships, 1. Dr. B. Senthil Sayinathan, Asst. Prof., Dept of Psychiatry, IRTPMCH, Perundurai, 2. Dr. C. Chandrakala, Asst. Prof, Dept. of Skin & STD, GVMC, Villupuram and 3. Dr.T. Bhanu Priya, Postgraduate, Department of Skin & STD, MGMC & RI, Puducherry.

Dr. Sardarilal Memorial Award was given to Dr. Vibhu Mendiratta on her original article in the IJSTD and AIDS on"Reappraisal of sexually transmitted infections in children: Ahospital based study from an urban area".

Dr. M. A. Wali Oration was delivered by Dr. P. Jeyasingh on "Speciality of STI - Looking back and Looking Forward". Then we had lectures on various topics as Outlook of STI & HIV Management Programmes, HIV clinical facets, Allergic & Inflammatory disorders of STI and HIV synergy.

Our international speakers Dr. Veerakathy Harindra, spoke on "HIV care through a Crystal Ball" and Dr. P. N. Sashidharan, gave the Dr. R. V. Rajam Endowment Oration on " Experience from a Genital Dermatology clinic in a Sexual Health Department in the United Kingdom". The plenary lecture on September 12, 2015 was given by Dr. Vinay Kulkarni on "Current scenario of STIs in HIV era and its implications as regards special populations".

Dr. P. S. Ranganathan Memorial Award Competition: First prize was given to the paper titled as "Prevalence of Fluconazole resistant pathogenic candida" by Dr. Shraddha Hirwani, Institute of Venereology, Madras Medical College, Chennai. Second prize was given to Dr. Aradhana Bhargava from , New Delhi on the topic as "Proficiency testing, root cause analysis and quality improvement feedback for the Nontreponemal tests of Syphilis: A six year meta analysis of inter and intra laboratory comparison", and the third prize to Dr.S.Thilagavathi from Vinayaka Mission Medical College, Salem titled as "Epidemiology and clinic investigative study of organisms causing vaginal discharge".The second day was over with free scientific papers.

The Annual General Body Meeting was conducted at the Legend Hall of The Residency Hotel, Coimbatore at 7-30 pm. followed by Gala Dinner with Orchestra. The minutes of the AGBM are enclosed separately.

The last day started with Rabindra Nath Dutta Memorial Award Competition. First prize was given to the paper titled as "Disseminated Histoplasmosis – A Rare Presentation" by Dr. Archana Meka, JSS Medical College, Mysuru. Second prize was given to Dr. A. Santhiya Vadhana from Thirunelveli Medical College, Thirunelveli on the topic as "A case report of Mycobacterium marinum infection in a HIV positive patient", and the third prize to Dr. Vijay Shankar.S from Institute of Venereology, Madras Medical College, Chennai titled as "A case of cardiovascular Syphilis presenting as dissecting aneurysm of thoraco-abdominal aorta".

Dr. C. N. Sowmini poster presentation competition was conducted in the Poster Hall; Three best posters are given prizes. The first prize was given to Dr. Razil Ahamed K.K, Vinayaka Mission Medical College, Salem, "ART's miracle in the treatment of Bowen's Disease in a HIV positive patient - Arare case report", second prize to Mr. Naveen Chandra Joshi, Safdarjung Hospital, New Delhi, on "Evaluation of Neisseria gonorrhoeae culture after different intervals from the specimen swab used for microscopy smears" and third prize to Dr. Priyanka kamath, Manipal, "Evaluation of adverse drug reaction profile of drugs used as first line antiretroviral therapy"

Then various sessions on HIV and STI took place including a panel discussion on difficult situations in STI clinical practice. Last day Plenary session was by Dr. Jehangir S Sorabjee on Identifying and Managing 1st line drug failure in the HIV patient. Then we had a session on Non STI Genital Dermatoses.

Dr. H.C. Mohanty– IASSTD – PG Quiz: Five teams were selected for finals from 25 teams Participated from various institutions all over the country. Quiz master Dr. G. Balaji conducted the programme and Dr. Rajesh guided the session as Ombudsman. The First prize gone to Dr. Simin Muhammed Kutty & Dr. Febin Ashraf, Calicut Medical College, Calicut, Second prize to Dr. Aswini.R & Dr. Bebisha Joseph, Trivandrum Medical College, Trivandrum and the third prize to Dr. E. Balasubramanian & Dr. S. Vijay Shankar, Madras Medical College, Chennai.

At the valedictory function, Dr. R.N. Dutta, President distributed prizes to the winners after welcome address by Dr. S. Kalaivani, Chairman, Scientific committee of ASTICON 2015. This was followed by change of office bearers - Dr. R.N. Dutta handed over the presidential medal to Dr. K. Mahadevan. Dr. K. Mahadevan took the charge as President and addressed the gathering.

Finally the vote of thanks was delivered by Dr. V. Mohankumar, organizing secretary of ASTICON 2015. To know the further details on awards / scholarship / orations please visit our website(

Thank you,

Dr.S Arunkumar
Secretary, IASSTD & AIDS